Friday, January 02, 2009

The Decemberist : The Hazards of Love - 3/24/09

After releasing a three EP series at the end of last year, The Decemberists have now announced their forthcoming LP: The Hazards of Love. This will be the follow up to The Crane Wife (2006). Colin Meloy has said that this album is going to be more folksy and vaudevillian then The Crane Wife, commenting that The Crane Wife was more of an entire production and that they would be going back to their roots for the next album. However, you have to wonder with a track list like the one below, if they haven't changed their mind and gone with the larger production. However, with the way the industry goes, only 10 to 12 of these songs will actually make it on the record, 2 additional will be sold through itunes and finally the remaining 3 to 5 will be purposely leaked as fake album songs. But an album with a release date is always exiting...

1. Prelude

2. The Hazards of Love 1 (The Prettiest Whistles Won't Wrestle the Thistles Undone)

3. A Bower Scene

4. Won't Want for Love (Margaret in the Taiga)

5. The Hazards of Love 2 (Wager All)

6. The Queen's Approach

7. Isn't it a Lovely Night?

8. The Wanting Comes in Waves / Repaid

9. An Interlude

10. The Rake's Song

11. The Abduction of Margaret

12. The Queen's Rebuke / The Crossing

13. Annan Water

14. Margaret in Captivity

15. The Hazards of Love 3 (Revenge!)

16. The Wanting Comes in Waves (Reprise)

17. The Hazards of Love 4 (The Drowned)

1 comment:

Tessa said...

I predict they will include the hazards of love 2, 3, and 4 and 1 will be "the hazards of love a go go" but that is just a prediction!

I am very excited for The Abduction of Margaret... YEAH!

I am looking forward to the new album I have to be honest.